Google Game: Put Your Blog on Top

rautalanka_klassikot_2

Lavenderbay over at Voice of the Turtle had a good suggestion for a game for bloggers:

The game is to enter a string of words — preferably not a post title, and the shorter the string the better — into the Google search engine, in hopes of turning up one’s own blog in the very first spot.

Here are some search terms I found that returned the Chawed Rosin as the number one result:

“mesmerizing song and dance”
“their every charming detail”
“excellent rautalanka”
“terrifying images of the Great Flood”
“hassled and screamed at”
“proto-feminist teen anthem”

What search terms put your blog on top? I should warn you that once you get started playing this game, it’s hard to stop.

~ by lolarusa on March 5, 2009.

5 Responses to “Google Game: Put Your Blog on Top”

  1. I fail to get exited about playing this game but there is a pretty good reason for it. There was a time waaayback (about 7 or 8 years ago) when my blogs actually were topping a number of search engines on a variety of search strings that I did not specifically have to look for in my blogs. They were more or less broadly used strings that anybody could have googled for.

    Having once been there was an experience per se but not something I would miss very much. It still occasionally happens when I am among the first to write about a specific topic or a person and I notice it as a traffic peak. Those are not the occasions when you get the best feedback.

    If I had to choose between thousands of people reading my post or just 10 persons who actually understand my point, I would absolutely take the latter. There is a chance that one or two of those 10 might even give me valuable feedback about something I have missed as opposed to getting 100 comments from jerks who find throwing mud on my person and each other to be a highlight of their day.

  2. Hei Larko,

    I agree that it’s not particularly satisfying to get a lot of hits from people who haven’t got any special interest in what you’re posting. Thousands of people have come to my blog by googling “LOL cats” and were, I’m sure, pretty disappointed.

    The thing that I do like about this game is less about my blog and more about the infinite variability of language. It highlights the fact that we constantly use phrases that have never been used before. Apparently, the exact phrase “terrifying images of the great flood” does not appear on any other page in Google’s index except for this blog (and my sister blog Looky). I find that fascinating.

    That’s why plagiarism software measures any string of a certain number of words in English, often 13 or more, as proof of plagiarism – the chances that two people would use the exact same 13 words in the exact same order are that slim.

  3. Fascinating.

    For Larko: Having just passed my first blogiversary, I’m still finding it fabulous that my stuff can be found by a search engine — even if it’s only under a pseudonym.
    I’m right with you about preferring a small, interested number of readers. The community of my “klatsch” of maybe a dozen regularly commenting blogfriends means a lot to me.

    For Lolarusa: I’m glad you’ve written the above comment. I was really surprised that the phrase “terrifying images of the great flood” can’t be found anywhere else on Google. Your explanation is intriguing. It’s as though writing is nearly as individual as fingerprints, isn’t it?

  4. Over two years ago I posted an entry called People Deformed and People Only Disfigured, titled after a line in a Hilary Mantel novel:

    http://bdr.typepad.com/blckdgrd/2007/02/sundaze.html

    To this day, I get approx 50 hits a day from people googling images of “disabled people” and “deformed people.” Just before I typed this comment, I googled “deformed people,” and I am the number one hit around the world.

    I’ve thought about deleting the post, but why should I delete a post I like because of creepy people who ping me and quickly go away when they don’t find photos of “deformed people?”

  5. You have to express more your opinion to attract more readers, because just a video or plain text without any personal approach is not that valuable. But it is just form my point of view

Leave a Reply

 
