Vintage Knitting Pattern

Leaf cardigan

This is from a 1965 pattern book published by the Bernhard Ulmann Co. I knitted this sweater for myself, and was very pleased with the results. The leaf pattern is surprisingly easy to memorize, and I like the fit of the sweater. Reworkings of older patterns rarely duplicate the vintage tailoring. Click the thumbnails for the complete pattern.

Pattern page 2 Pattern page 1 Pattern page 3

Cross-posted at Looky

More knitting patterns

~ by lolarusa on March 20, 2007.

9 Responses to “Vintage Knitting Pattern”

  1. Made a little shorter, this would be a wonderful shrug.

  2. […] freie Vintage Patterns von glamarama oder auch bei purlyq Vintage Knitting Pattern Anleitung für eine Strickjacke oder für Little Jacket bei danceswithwool von Two Sister Vintage ein […]

  3. I love this website and always call by to get a dose of the wonderful vintage knitting patterns here. Thanks so much. Got my own new website where I am going to be posting vintage knitting patterns for others to download. Here’s the link if any fella is interested: http://www.vintageknittingpatternrepository.com/

    Please call by and danke

  4. wow! super!

  5. HELLO I’M JUST FINISHING 3719 PATTERN
    INTERESTING I MADE THIS PATTERN WHEN IT FIRST CAME OUT IN 1960
    AT THE AGE OF 20 IT WAS AND THE MOST STRIKING SWEATER MY PATTERN WAS A LITTLE DIFFERENT IT DID NOT HAVE THE FACING FOLD OVER FOR THE BUTTONS I WAS SO DELIGHTED TO FIND THIS CLOSE TO MY PATTERN I KNITTED SO LONG AGO I’M AT THE FINISHING STAGE I HAD TO LOOK UP THIS PATTERN MANY TIMES TO READ IT MORE CLOSELY PRINT SO SMALL I TRULY WANTED TO BRING BACK SO OF MY HISTORY I MADE IT THE SAME COLOR AS IN 1960 THAT IS LIGHT PEACH WITH ELEGANT BUTTONS

  6. THANKS FOR HELPING ME RECOVER SOME VINTAGE HISTORY

  7. Hi Margaret Ann! How fun to get your message. I did this pattern in a flecked green and it is one of my favorites. Happy knitting!

  8. Boohoo…im looking for MeCall Needlework pattern magazines from 1956 to 1977-78…someone came in my home and sold knitting bag and all of my vintage books…is there anyone out there who can tell how i can replace some of these books…signed devastated

  9. Oh, no, LiLew! What a bummer. I got all my books one or two at a time at thrift stores and garage sales, but I’m sure you can find replacements for some of them online. There’s some McCall’s on amazon.

Leave a comment