Perky Snood

Nothing keeps the hair tame like a snood. This crocheted snood pattern is from the Complete Guide to Modern Knitting and Crochet, from 1942.

perky-snood-2461

Here’s the pattern.

perky-snood460

More vintage knit patterns

~ by lolarusa on April 17, 2009.

10 Responses to “Perky Snood”

  1. I just don’t think I’ve ever heard the words snood and perky together.
    Huh.

  2. thank you so much for sharing this pattern! besides sharing a fascination & love of vintage patterns, i’ve recently been looking for a snood pattern but hadn’t been able to find many that were *authentic* 1940’s! I very much look forward to trying this out!

    <3 jess.S

  3. Hi Jess. You can’t get more authentic than the Complete Guide to Modern Knitting and Crochet. It’s a fascinating book, including knitting projects for supplying soldiers on the fighting lines. If you ever see it for sale, snap it up.

  4. Super trendy!! Xx

  5. Hi im new here but i been searching how to do a snood like that. I saw a video on YouTube witch a lady was showing how to do this exact snood. I was not able to see how she was doing it. Plus i know i should red the patern page? Put since im a bigginer i really dnt understand it. So for ke it takes long time to get the hint of it. If just incase you have a video how to do it. Can i be able to see it. For me to be able to try to do it. Please. … and thank you. :)

  6. Hello Yanet,

    There is, in fact, a video tutorial here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K5tHyLwtlag

    Let me know how it works out!

  7. I have a quick question. I have tried to figure it out, but it eludes me. Can you tell me how the decreases work…the pattern doesn’t explain it all that well.

  8. Hi Amanda. There’s a fairly good video tutorial of this pattern here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K5tHyLwtlag

  9. I am having great difficulty following this pattern. The video does not help me, figure out the mistake I must be doing. I do not get 23 chain spaces after finishing Row 8! Can someone pls help me by explaining the pattern.
    It would be nice if the Snood video were clearer by laying the work flat on the table so I can see what her work looks like. Then maybe I can figure it out! I have pulled out my work nd started over five times. (The most chain spaces I get is 18)!!!! Help, please!

  10. Hello Helinda! Unfortunately, I haven’t actually made a snood myself. Can anyone help her out here?

Leave a comment