Vintage Knits: 1950s Top and Kneesocks

short-sleeved-college-sweater-photo

Isn’t this the cutest little top you ever saw? It’s from College Knits for Men and Women, published in 1958.

I wonder if I could make the collar look as tidy as it does in this picture. Here’s the pattern, if you’d like to try. I’ve included the pattern for the kneesocks as well.

 Scan 

More knitting patterns


~ by lolarusa on May 12, 2008.

6 Responses to “Vintage Knits: 1950s Top and Kneesocks”

  1. I’ve been following this pattern but have encountered a problem-I think a page is missing from the pattern. If goes from page 22 to “continued from page 23”
    It’s the part of the instructions for the sleeves. I’m really excited to finish this top but I can’t find the pattern anywhere else. Thank you!

  2. Sorry for the omission, Marilyn! I’ve uploaded page 23 now.

  3. Thanks so much! I love your blog!

  4. When I open the page you uploaded it only shows the image and not the text for the pattern. If I pull it down to my computer the page is too small to read. if I give you my email address could you send the scan directly to my email? My email is marifisher@comcast.net
    Sorry for the inconvenience this may cause you.

  5. Hi Marilyn. For some reason, the link to the photo file was being replaced by the photo at the top of the post. I think I’ve fixed it now. Give it a try.

  6. Yep, it works now! Thanks a lot!

Leave a comment