The New Colossal

The Guardian invited poets in a time of Trump to reimagine Emma Lazarus’s The New Colussusthe poem inscribed at the base of the Statue of Liberty.

Here’s what I came up with:

Give me a good line, like “You’re fired,” no more,
and I’ll take a muddled stab at learning to be me,
a wretched recluse with a team, a score,
You want in? Then toss a tweet to me,
or leave a gift outside my golden door.

Give it a try!

~ by lolarusa on August 10, 2017.

2 Responses to “The New Colossal”

  1. Now our mighty woman, with blazing torch
    Held high, bleeding badly from a facelift,
    Beckoning to no one, her feet adrift,
    Says, “You wretched masses out on my porch:
    Wipe both your feet. Oh, and write down your church;
    No synagogues or mosques. You get my drift?”
    This once mighty woman now seems so miffed.
    Her beacon now suited better to scorch.

    I grew up learning we are the good guys
    Doors open to those yearning to breathe free.
    I cringe to think what they see when their eyes
    Fall on us and our whingeing wannabe
    Leader who hates and fears and trolls and lies,
    And those who say, “This is okay by me.”

  2. Fantastic poem, Rick.

Leave a Reply

 
