All the books Rick read in 2016

Back in January, last January, I decided to keep a log of the books I’m reading. At first it was a list, and after a short while I began to write down the date I finished the story. I’ve included an image of the cover for the books I liked, which you might like as well. Here we go:

The 12 Caesars, by Suetonius

the-twelve-caesars

Edwin of the Iron Shoes, by Marcia Mueller.

Armada, by Ernest Cline. Feb 1st.

Dixie City Jam, by James Lee Burke. Feb 15th.

The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden, by Jonas Jonasson, translated by Rachel Willson-Broyles. Feb 26th.

the-girl-who-saved-the-king-of-sweden

Full Dark House, by Christopher Fowler. March 6th.

Cold Dark Trail, by Jarkko Sipila, translated by Christian London. March 16th.

Don’t Look Now, by Daphne Du Maurier. March 26th.

The Nemesis Affair, by David M Raup. April 7th.

the-nemesis-affair

A Canticle for Leibowitz, by Walter M Miller, jr. April 23rd.

The Last Picture Show, by Larry McMurtry. April 30th.

the-last-picture-show

A Pocketful of Noses, by James Powell. May 15th.

a-pocketful-of-noses

The Bourne Identity, by Robert Ludlum. May 25th. A 608 page story that could’ve been told in 250 pages.

Edgar A. Poe, A Biography, by Kenneth Silverman. June 16th. Stopped reading at 141 pages.

Acolytes of Cthulhu, edited by Robert M Price. July 10th.

Mycroft Holmes, by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. July 17th.

Seven Brothers, by Aleksis Kivi, translated by Richard A. Impola. Aug 25th.

seven-brothers

Beautiful Ruins, by Jess Walter. Aug 30th.

beautiful-ruins

(At this point I lost track of what I was reading & when I read it)

The Two Towers, By J.R.R. Tolkien. Early September.

Black Hole, by Charles Burns. Mid Sept.

black-hole

Orcs, by Stan Nicholls. Mid Sept. Stopped reading at 150 pages.

The King in Yellow, by Robert W Chambers. Late Sept, maybe early Oct. Get your notable heights of cosmic fear right here.

the-king-in-yellow

The Explorers Guild, by John Baird & Kevin Costner. Oct 24th.

the-explorers-guild

Bazaar of Bad Dreams, by Stephen King. Nov 10th.

Pretty Monsters, by Kelly Link. Dec 15th.

pretty-monsters

Five on a Treasure Island, by Enid Blyton. Dec 19th.

Five Go to Smuggler’s Top, By Enid Blyton. Dec 29th.

And that’s about it. Might’ve missed one or two in the fall and early winter. I’d say my favorite was The Explorers Guild. Part novel, part graphic novel, it’s quite an adventure story & I liked it very much. What have you been reading?

~ by Rick on January 7, 2017.

2 Responses to “All the books Rick read in 2016”

  1. I started a book blog a number of years ago because I am a little forgetful and end up getting half way through a book before realizing I’ve read it. What I’ve discovered is that I am reading fewer books each year. Hope to rectify that in 2017.

  2. I, too enjoyed The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden and Beautiful Ruins. Another favorite of mine for the year was With the Lapps in the High Mountains, by Emilie Demant Hatt, and translated by Barbara Sjoholm.

Leave a Reply

 
