Message in a bottle

Back in September I put a message in a bottle and threw it into the Columbia River at Astoria. My hope had been for the current of the river to take the bottle out to sea.

DSC_0461

The message said something like, Today’s my birthday. My wife and I are on vacation. I’m throwing a message in a bottle into the river, please write me if you find it.

On February 13th I got a letter from a 10-year-old named Emma.

IMG_0812

We found the Safeway in Astoria on a map, and it appears my message floated upstream about two and a half miles. Emma mentions that she found the bottle on December 26th, and says, “P.S: pleas wright back.”  You bet I’ll wright back.

I can’t tell you how pleased I am. I feel very lucky. I hoped someone would find it, but I didn’t honestly think it would work. I wonder what she must have thought when she picked the bottle up & saw the rolled up brown paper inside. If I found a message in a bottle, I don’t think I would believe my eyes.  So yeah, I feel very lucky indeed.

~ by Rick on February 14, 2016.

3 Responses to “Message in a bottle”

  1. It actually works! :D And such an adorable reply.When I had almost started believing that messages in bottles were only good for the movies.

  2. How wonderful to connect to others in a serendipity, we-live-on-a-small-planet, connected way.

  3. That’s delightful!

Leave a Reply

 
