The Edwin Hawkins Singers: Oh Happy Day

Aside from the Norman Luboff Choir (and maybe the Mormon Tabernacle Choir?), the only choir I can think of who has had popular hits were the Edwin Hawkins Singers. Their biggest hit was a song I’ve loved since childhood, Oh Happy Day, which was played on the eclectic pop radio I listened to as a kid.

Still gives me chills. Even more so to hear the recording that made the song famous (if you don’t need to look at a video while you listen to this wonderful music).

It only made me happy to learn that the it was the Edwin Hawkins Singers who collaborated with my childhood idol Melanie on her hit Lay Down.

(If you like Melanie, I have posted several other Melanie songs on this blog in the past.)

~ by lolarusa on February 25, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
