Good Song or Bad Song: Mandy

I think this is a lovely song.

While there are other Barry Manilow songs that are fun and (very) familiar, Mandy is the only Barry Manilow tune I can think of that is what I would call a good song.

I recently learned that this is probably because Barry Manilow didn’t write Mandy. It was written by Scott English and Richard Kerr, originally with the title Brandy, and recorded by English in 1972, two years before Manilow’s version became such a huge hit. You can hear English’s recording here.

The melody is quite simple, and some might find it monotonous, but the lyric has little surprises in the rhyme and rhythm, and I’ve always found the chorus very touching. Besides, I once sang it at Sunset Bowl karaoke and got the swaying lighters. My only swaying lighters performance. So naturally I’m fond of it.

So what do you say, is this a good song or a bad song?

More good song bad song.

~ by lolarusa on August 21, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
