St Petersburg, part two

Having found my hostel and recharged my camera (see previous posts), I set out for a visit to the Church on Spilled Blood, a beautiful thing built on the site where Czar Alexander II, the reformist, was assassinated. Alexander II remains a popular figure in Finland. He established a Finnish currency and recognized Suomi as a national language. OK, here’s the church.

~ by Rick on June 20, 2012.

4 Responses to “St Petersburg, part two”

  1. These are incredible.

  2. ah, Uncle Vinny. Nice to hear from you. They are nice, aren’t they? My jaw dropped when I entered. At first I thought they were mosaics that were painted, but I soon realized they were simply incredible mosaics.

  3. There is a LOT going on here….it’s visual overload.

  4. Thats so impressive. Ive always wanted to see St. petersburg,

Leave a Reply

 
