Seattle Monorail

In an earlier post, lolarusa mentioned the Elvis Seat. This is the coveted spot on the monorail that Elvis sat in while filming “It Happened at the World’s Fair.”

There is another, less famous spot on the monorail, which I call the Darren McGavin Seat.

Darren McGavin is a favorite actor of mine, thanks to TV’s The Night Stalker, starring Darren McGavin.  It was a treasure trove of stories about an intrepid journalist following up on such leads as vampires, werewolves, zombies, etc. It was right up my alley, and I was very disappointed when it was canceled. As an adult, I can see that a show like this can’t last. There’s only a finite number of kooky subjects worth talking about. For example, I just said “vampires, werewolves, zombies, etc.” Toward the end of the show the “et cetera” included biker gangs, robots, and old people. You call that kooky? ’cause I don’t.  Perhaps they showed some class by doing 20 episodes and calling it a day. Other shows might have taken a similar route. I’m looking at you, X-Files.

Still. Please watch the accompanying video, which shows Darren commuting home from work. He must live at the Space Needle.

If you’re on the monorail, sit at the end when it leaves the Space Needle to do the Elvis seat. Sit at the end headed toward the Space Needle to do the Darren McGavin seat. Either way, you’ll be glad you did.

~ by Rick on August 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “Seattle Monorail”

  1. My favorite episode is the one where he has to go into an auto wrecking yard and find a body in a crashed car and sew its lips shut. Scary and funny. Was that the zombie one?

    I love Darren McGavin.

  2. I liked him as Mike Hammer. And I just learned he was from Spokane!

Leave a Reply

 
