Vintage Knits: Peasant Dress from 1937

Normally I only post knitting patterns that I might theoretically be able to complete, given sufficient time and energy. This peasant dress and blouse from Minerva’s volume 47 pattern book from 1937 isn’t a likely candidate, given that it involves copious amounts of embroidery (which tends to enervate me) and crochet (which I seem to be incapable of).

But look at it.

It’s just lovely, don’t you think? I’m almost tempted to brave the inevitable mental breakdown that attempting to make it would entail.

I’m sure some of you have the skills to pull it off.

Here’s the pattern:

 

More knitting patterns.

~ by lolarusa on June 21, 2011.

4 Responses to “Vintage Knits: Peasant Dress from 1937”

  1. If it were me, I would give in to my avoidance of hand embroidery and buy fabric that was already so embellished. :)

  2. But if I bought fabric then I’d have to sew, which I also cannot seem to do. I knit. That’s all I know how to do.

  3. Crocheted sleeves, that’s something you don’t see every day. I bet the embroidery wouldn’t take all that long. But velveteen, it seems too hot. How about muslin? Sure to come out wonky if I sewed it.

  4. The dress is knitted. I think the yarm is called velveen. Sounds pretty.

Leave a Reply

 
