Roberta Flack: The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

Can anyone tell me why yesterday’s post made me think of this song? 14 brownie points for anyone who knows.

~ by lolarusa on March 15, 2011.

7 Responses to “Roberta Flack: The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face”

  1. The handsome young Gordon Lightfoot, who wrote “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face”, is a pretty old cowboy these days. Bless him.

  2. Is it because the first time you saw Don McLean it was at a Roberta Flack concert?

  3. I’ve heard the song performed by Gordon Lightfoot, I think, but wikipedia says it was written by Ewan McColl.

    I have never seen Don McLean or Roberta Flack in concert, unfortunately.

  4. Lightfoot didn’t write that song..He wrote “the Last Time I saw Her Face”.
    He did do a cover of “The First Time Ever I saw Your Face” tho.

    http://www.lightfoot.cahttp://www.lightfoot.ca/lyrics.htm

  5. Is it because Roberta Flack is a prominent member of the American Pie Council?

  6. Alright, I will tell you. Roberta Flack’s other big hit, “Killing Me Softly” is a song about Don McLean. So when I posted about Don McLean, it made me think of Roberta Flack.

  7. Oh, no-o-o! My oops. That’s all right, though, ’cause he did much better on “The Last Time” than on “The First Time.”

    That’s interesting about “Killing Me Softly.” Amazing what can happen on a starry, starry night.

Leave a Reply

 
