First Sentence Friday

Unexpected obstacle. Please don’t come till thirtieth. Anna.

That’s the perfunctory telegram that sets in motion the gripping story of deceit in Edith Wharton‘s The Reef, the most suspenseful novel I’ve ever read in which almost nothing happens.

I read The Reef this past week, and I kept gasping and chuckling to myself, and Rick asked a couple of times what was happening in the story, but what was happening was generally just a conversation in a sitting room. All I could say was, “It’s complicated.”

I loved this book.

The Reef is in the public domain, so the entire novel is available for free online.

~ by lolarusa on February 11, 2011.

4 Responses to “First Sentence Friday”

  1. does rick get to read it now?

  2. I doubt that he wants to read it. He doesn’t usually like novels where nothing happens, no matter how suspenseful they are.

  3. Should I put it on my list?

  4. Jilly, I think you’d love it.

Leave a Reply

 
