First Paragraph Friday

I heard about a great idea for lazy Friday bloggers on the Bibliosue blog – to post the first sentence of whatever book you’re reading. But I think I’ll make it a paragraph, because it was the first few paragraphs of this book that made me want to read it.

Excuse me, but may I be of assistance? Ah, I see I have alarmed you. Do not be frightened by my beard: I am a lover of America. I noticed that you were looking for something; more than looking, in fact you seemed to be on a mission, and since I am both a native of this city and a speaker of your language, I thought I might offer you my services.

Intriguing, isn’t it? It’s from Mohsin Hamid’s The Reluctant Fundamentalist.


~ by lolarusa on November 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
