American Jews, Atheists, Mormons Most Knowledgable about Religion

A new Pew survey of more than three thousand Americans finds that Jews, Atheists, and Mormons know more basic facts about religion than do Protestants and Catholics. This doesn’t surprise me. It’s a reflection of the fact that members of majority religious groups feel less need to know the history and basic tenets of different religions, including even their own.

Here are the average percentages of correct answers given by people of different religious and non-religious groups.

You can read the study in its entirety or take the quiz yourself on the Pew website.

~ by lolarusa on September 28, 2010.

7 Responses to “American Jews, Atheists, Mormons Most Knowledgable about Religion”

  1. The quiz isn’t responding right now, but I can’t wait to check it out.

  2. Try this link..I’m sure this would work..keep us posted with the score bro..
    http://features.pewforum.org/quiz/us-religious-knowledge/

  3. It was too easy… I got 15/15. I did guess on the “American revivalist” question, but I guessed right, hooray! (This is what happens when you spend too much of your free time thinking about religion…)

  4. The survey generally mirrors the trend in my office, although we don’t spend a lot of time discussing religion. 14/15. I’ll get you yet, unclevinny!

  5. My result was the same as Vinny’s, including guessing about the revivalist preacher, but I had also read the answer to the question about the catholic communion in a description of the survey that I read before looking at it, so I don’t know if I would have remembered that one.

  6. 100% for me too, guessing at the last question as you did (though I was sure it wasn’t Billy Graham, which left 50-50 odds). My category is White Mainline Protty, even though I’m so fed up with church politics that I don’t bother attending anymore.

  7. I don’t bother attending anymore.

    I bet the politics got even worse after left!

Leave a Reply

 
