Vintage Knits: 1962 Hooded Mohair Cardigan

I don’t think I’ve ever wished summer wouldn’t end as much as I do this year. But that is not to be, for today is the first day of autumn.

Perhaps I’ll comfort myself by knitting this lovely hooded mohair cardigan, from Mohair Hand Knits, published in 1962.

Here’s the pattern:

Happy equinox!

More knitting patterns


~ by lolarusa on September 24, 2010.

8 Responses to “Vintage Knits: 1962 Hooded Mohair Cardigan”

  1. knit it in csshmere or baby alpaca instead, mohair is much too itchy. It is pretty though. I take a large if you’re doing two of them.

  2. I know. I can’t believe how deceptively cozy the model makes it look in the photo. Mohair should be used only for V-neck pullovers to be worn over a thick cotton turtleneck.

    But it’s so fluffy.

  3. It IS fluffy!

  4. Mohair is great. I love how that itch feels.

  5. Perhaps you are a hair shirt person, Dudleif. I am not a hair shirt person.

  6. This hooded sweater was one of the first things I ever knit. I think it was knit with 2 strands held together – one mohair, the other wool – and it was delicious to wear. Loved that sweater for a long, long time.

  7. It’s good to have a personal testimonial for the pattern, It’sJustMe. Thanks.

  8. My aunt knit this sweater in several colours for her new back to school wardrobe. I was the pest of a neice visiting grandma for the summer… what could she do for some peace? Get me knitting what else! Thanks for the memories.

Leave a Reply

 
