Eppu Normaali: Tahroja paperilla

Tahroja paperilla, a hit of the 80s from Finnish superstars Eppu Normaali.

It used to be hard to find a decent Eppu Normaali video online, but the supply is steadily increasing, which pleases me.

Here’s a rough translation of the lyric. It doesn’t begin to capture the satisfying rhythm of the original, but it gives the basic meaning.

Spots on Paper

I know it’ll be night time when you come home in the dark
Loneliness strikes, without saying its name
When you read my letter you’ll hear the echo
See the spots and think they’re drops of rain

I walk outside in the light, I can feel the wind on my face
I couldn’t feel it in the house, I think I’ll never go back home
I’m not on my way to any place
There’s no place for me, no place of my own

It’s just spots on paper, so don’t be mad
Certain things can never change
Not the trip we took, or the moment we had
The wind tickles my back, cold,
pushes me forward, so don’t be afraid
Don’t worry about the trip we took
Just remember the moment we had

I came as a guest and left like a thief, feeling spooked
When I got ahold of myself, I realized I was growing
I sucked you dry,  your scent clinging to my scarf
You did the same to me, I don’t blame you for running.

It’s just spots on paper, so don’t be mad
Certain things can never change
Not the trip we took, or the moment we had
The wind tickles my back, cold,
pushes me forward, so don’t be afraid
Don’t worry about the trip we took
Just remember the moment we had

And here is the original Finnish lyric. The song is by Martti and Mikko Syrjä.

Tahroja paperilla

Tiedän että on yö, kun saavut kotiisi pimeään
Yksinäisyys lyö, sanomatta nimeään
Kun luet kirjeeni kaiun kuulet
Tahrat näet joita sateeksi luulet

Kuljen ulkona valossa, kasvoillani voin tuntea tuulen
Ei sitä tuntunut talossa, johon palaa en koskaan, luulen
En ole menossa minnekkään
Ei missään tule minun luokseni, minun vuokseni

Vain tahroja paperilla, älä siis suutu
Ei niistä asiat miksikään muutu
Ei se että meillä oli retkemme, eikä se että meillä oli hetkemme
Voi tuuli kylmästi kutittaa selkää, se eteenpäin työntää, älä siis pelkää
Älä huoli siitä, sillä meillä oli retkemme, aa aa aa..
Vain muista, että meillä oli.. hetkemme

Kutsun saaneena tulin, lähdin kui varas, säikähdin viimein
Kun itseeni tarttuneen, tajusin varttuneen
Imin sut kuiviin, tarttui mun huiviin tuoksusi
Teit saman minulle, juoksusi annan anteeksi sinulle

Vain tahroja paperilla, älä siis suutu
Ei niistä asiat miksikään muutu
Ei se että meillä oli retkemme, eikä se että meillä oli hetkemme
Voi tuuli kylmästi kutittaa selkää, se eteenpäin työntää, älä siis pelkää
Älä huoli siitä sillä meillä oli retkemme, aa aa aa…
Vain muista, että meillä oli.. hetkemme

~ by lolarusa on March 5, 2010.

2 Responses to “Eppu Normaali: Tahroja paperilla”

  1. Hey thanks for the great music and the translation. Do they still make records?

  2. They released a couple of albums in the last few years, one in 2004 and one in 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
