Summer Reading

A stealth post while Lolarusa is away. My name is Rick, and I wrote this post.

Speaking of books, my all-time favorite is A Confederacy of Dunces. According to the story, the author’s mother went through his belongings after he committed suicide and found this manuscript. After a bit of hard sell she got it published, and it won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1981. It’s funny, tragic, ridiculous, and awesome, and you should read it. I would have scanned my own copy of the book for visuals, but I can’t figure out how to use the scanner. Lolarusa is the IT person in this house, and she’s not here. Oh Fortuna, you Minx!

A Confederacy of Dunces, by John Kennedy Toole

~ by Rick on August 30, 2009.

4 Responses to “Summer Reading”

  1. It’s my favorite book, too. I re-read it every few years, and always learn something new. And am still amused. They keep threatening to make a movie of it, which I think would be awful.

  2. There is a stage production of it going in Seattle right now… but your right, I’m skeptical that it would be any good in the real world; it should exist only in words.

    If you have time, you should get ahold of his first novel, The Neon Bible. He wrote it when he was 15; it’s utterly unlike Dunces, but it will make you admire the young fella even more.

  3. This new post is fascinating and cosmopolitan.

    I find that when the scanner isn’t working, it’s usually unplugged.

  4. Lolarusa, you are wise, as always. The scanner is in order, and I’m able to post more. For example, check summer reading, part two. Who’s scanning now? Me! Me, I say! Me.

Leave a Reply

 
