I’ve Got Mine, the Rest of You Can Go to Hell

Here is a nice little video of opponents of government health insurance who are also perfectly satisfied with their Medicare and V.A. benefits.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I’ve seen this again and again in my own family. It’s what Rick calls the “I’ve got mine and the rest of you can go to hell” conservative philosophy.

A large number of my older relatives have benefited from government programs their entire lives – farming land that was irrigated through massive depression-era government projects, going to school on the G.I. bill, living on Social Security, Medicare, and generous military pensions in their old age. And now that they’ve received all these benefits, they oppose expanding them in any way, and in fact want to see all government programs reduced (except for the ones they’re still using right now). Because letting others receive the same kind of help they got all their lives goes against their beliefs.

Video courtesy of Salon.

More politics.

~ by lolarusa on August 12, 2009.

7 Responses to “I’ve Got Mine, the Rest of You Can Go to Hell”

  1. The attitude reminds me of Father Fintan Stack on Father Ted. He’s just a horrible despicable priest, but his mantra is the last line here:

    By the way I got the keys of your car and I drove it into a big wall. And if you don’t like it, tough. I had my fun and that’s all that matters.

  2. I’m at the point where I don’t know which makes me cringe more; the ignorance or the heartlessness.

  3. I have a coworker that was talking about the government deciding when she is supposed to die. I asked her if she really believed that. “Well, that’s what I heard.” But do you really believe it? She just looked at me like I was missing the point. I don’t think there ae many people who really believe this. They just like to say it without thinking about it.

  4. Does she not know where she works? I mean. HELLOOOOOOO.

  5. Seriously, keep Obama and the government out of my Medicare! My response to this heartlessness (especially when the “derogotory” term bleeding heart comes up) is: Better a bleeding heart then no heart at all. These people are idiots or assholes. Those are really the only two options here.

  6. Hey, Naomi, that’s my family you’re talking about.

  7. lol…I know…it’s mine, too. **head-desk** My language is harsh, I apologize. They are either not very well informed or not very nice people. Is that better? :P

Leave a Reply

 
