Illustrations from June 1932 American Magazine

I really like the style of 1930s illustration. The June 1932 issue of American Magazine is full of great pictures.

Cover539

Cover illustration by Hayden C. Hayden

Probak razor blades ad

Probak razor blades ad

illustration for Captain Grim by Donald Teague

illustration for Captain Grim by Donald Teague

illustration for Captain Grim by Norman Wilkinson

color illustration for Captain Grim by Norman Wilkinson

illustration for Fancy Dress by J. Gotlieb

color illustration for Fancy Dress by J. Gotlieb

illustration for Fancy Dress by J. Gotlieb

illustration for Fancy Dress by J. Gotlieb

illustration for The Tall Ladder by Saul Tepper

illustration for The Tall Ladder by Saul Tepper

second illustration for The Tall Ladder by Saul Tepper

second illustration for The Tall Ladder by Saul Tepper

illustration for Forlorn Island by Harold Von Schmidt

illustration for Forlorn Island by Harold Von Schmidt

color illustration for The Last of His Line by James E. Allen

color illustration for The Last of His Line by James E. Allen

illustration for The Last of His Line by James E. Allen

illustration for The Last of His Line by James E. Allen

Update for Lynda. Here is your grandfather’s illustration:

More ephemera


~ by lolarusa on June 8, 2009.

11 Responses to “Illustrations from June 1932 American Magazine”

  1. Thanks for scanning these… I assume it’s a scan? Did you find the magazine in an antique store?

  2. Yes, Rick picked it up at Paperworks, the shop downstairs at Pike Place that has all the old magazines.

  3. I’m looking for a New American collector to interview for my blog, ephemera. I’m trying to penetrate deeper into the magazine niche–talking to collectors of specific titles rather than generalists. This post seems like a good place to start. Further, I’d like to interview the owner of this blog about your interest in ephemera as it is covered and explored in some detail on this site.

  4. Correction: I’m looking for The American magazine collector…to interview.

  5. Hello Marty,,

    I am definitely more of a generalist when it comes to magazines. This is the only issue of The American that I have, and I had never heard of the magazine until my husband bought me this copy at a local vintage paper shop. While I love ephemera, and old magazines in particular, the only items that I’ve ever actively collected are vintage knitting patterns.

    Your blog is very interesting, by the way.

  6. these are wonderful! thank you.

  7. The quality of the artwork in this magazine is really fine. This kind of illustration is a lost art – or maybe an art that has lost its commercial niche.

  8. I learned that the June 1932 American magazine had art done by Eugene Iverd, my grandfather. It was an illustration supposedly. Can you check for me? Thanks a lot.

  9. Hello Lynda,

    Yes, there’s a painting by Eugene Iverd accompanying an article titled Nothing To Be Afraid Of!

    I can scan it and post it sometime next week, if you like.

  10. Hi Lynda,

    I’ve posted your grandfather’s illustration above.

  11. hi

Leave a Reply

 
