1911 Beauty Hints

Here are some handy beauty tips from the program of the Metropolitan Theater Company in Seattle in 1911.
beauty-hints

I get the part about too much sleep and fatty foods making you fat. And the idea of air nutrition for the hair has a certain appeal. But coal oil for the hair? I suppose there’s plenty of weird ingredients in the stuff we put on our hair. For all I know, my shampoo has coal oil in it.

From the University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections.

~ by lolarusa on January 6, 2009.

2 Responses to “1911 Beauty Hints”

  1. For me, it’s swaddling one’s teeth with iodine and alcohol that I find alarming. And heaven help us as our skin withers!

    Speaking of which, I’m wishing now I’d taken a picture of my grandmother’s medicine cabinet when I was a kid. It was AMAZING.

  2. “Air is the most important for hair nutrition”, weird I don’t hear that one from Johnson and Johnson too often. It would be a lot cheaper than conditioner that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

 
