Honky Tonkers for Truth: Takin’ My Country Back

I’ve heard this song several times in the past couple of weeks.

Tony Stampley

It’s by a group of Nashville country musicians called Honky Tonkers for Truth, with lead singer Tony Stampley. I think he has a fine, old-time country voice. A person could write a doctoral thesis on what the lyric says and doesn’t say (for all I know, somebody’s already working on it), but it is certainly refreshing to hear really good mainstream country musicians brave enough to express opposition to the current administration.

Audio courtesy of Blue State Update

UPDATE, OCTOBER 2008: I see there’s a new interest in this post. What a difference a year makes, huh? It no longer requires any sort of bravery for country musicians to oppose the Republicans. Even Ralph Stanley‘s on board.

More country music

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

~ by lolarusa on November 23, 2007.

10 Responses to “Honky Tonkers for Truth: Takin’ My Country Back”

  1. It moves me to tears whenever I hear it. I came back to this country during the Vietnam War despite a 1-A draft status, because I refused to be driven out of my country. WE CANNOT LET OUR NATION BE DESTROYED BY THE CORRUPT AND THE INCOMPETENT!

  2. I find the song very moving, too.

  3. Heard this song on Slacker Uprising, Michael Moore’s new movie. I was floored to hear a country singer (besides the Dixie Chicks) singing against president bush!!

    Great song.

  4. I heard it on slacker uprising too, a movie I couldn’t stand, but a song I loved! It is such a breath of fresh air to hear a country song about this real topic. It has no party, no denomination, only a spirit, and that is– VERY AMERICAN. Shame to shoe Nashville stars who didn’t have the balls to sing it.

  5. Every time I hear this song I end up listening again two or three times. It’s 2008 and I’m still sharing it with people.

  6. It’s true and well done! I want a copy.

  7. Thanks for posting this. I heard it on Michael Moore’s Slacker Uprising and I have been trying to find it since. Now I have. Thanks, again.

    T.

  8. I love this! Would listen to just this for hours in 2004 – I thought it was going to happen. Found this site today when I realized we just might be “taking our country back!” this time!!

  9. It’s really happening! It is! It is!

  10. 46 days, 13 hours, 32 minutes until we get it back!
    Yee haw!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
