A Year of Chawing Rosin

It’s been a year since I created this blog.

I think I’ll indulge in some retrospection. There have been more than 47,000 visits to the Chawed Rosin since my first post, but only 218 comments. People are shy, I guess. Looking back at the archives, I see that my first week of posts consisted of photos of Helsinki (where I was living at the time),

an antiwar song,

a link to audio from the military tribunals of Guantanamo detainees Hadj Boudella (left) and Mustafa Ait Idir,

a classic country song,

and a post about old newspaper illustrations.

I’m still posting lots of photographs, antiwar music, old ephemera, and occasional country music, and I’ve tried to include regular reminders for those who read this blog that there are hundreds of prisoners being held by American authorities without having been charged with any crime.

My most popular post ever was a scan of a Lysol ad I found in an old magazine,

and, if my stats are to be believed, I like puppets much, much more than other people do. I’m a sucker for puppets. Are you sure you don’t want to see some delightful videos of puppets?

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Update: I am happy to report a sharp increase in visits to my puppet video posts. Aren’t they nifty?

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

~ by lolarusa on November 19, 2007.

6 Responses to “A Year of Chawing Rosin”

  1. Congratulations! Your blog is really great, seems we are all a bit lazy to comment!

  2. Kiitoksia blogista, joka on tanaan yks vuosi ja yks paiva vanha! Tapasin sen ensi kerran, mutta loysin jo paljon mielenkiintoista ja hyodyllista.

  3. Thanks for the comments!

    Kiitos kommenteista!

  4. Like the first guy, I like your blog a lot, but I’m just too lazy to comment too. To atone, I’ve finally gotten round to lnking to it. Well done on your milestone.

  5. Just discovered your blog today, it’s brilliant!

  6. Great Blogg site

Leave a Reply

 
