I Remember, by Stevie Smith

Stevie Smith

From her 1957 collection Not Waving but Drowning:

I Remember

It was my bridal night I remember,
An old man of seventy-three
I lay with my young bride in my arms,
A girl with t.b.
It was wartime, and overhead
The Germans were making a particularly heavy raid on Hampstead.
What rendered the confusion worse, perversely
Our bombers had chosen that moment to set out for Germany.
Harry, do they ever collide?
I do not think it has ever happened,
Oh my bride, my bride.

Here is audio of Garrison Keillor reading the poem.

More poetry

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

~ by lolarusa on July 24, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
