Poika vuoden takaa

This is from the Ultra Bra album Vesireittejä (Water Routes). The words to the song, written by poet and Member of Parliament Anni Sinnemäki, are very interesting. Here is the lyric and an English translation.

Poika vuoden takaa

Järveksi ajattelen uima-altaan
sinut pojaksi vuoden takaa
jos suljen silmäni
on tässä ihan hyvä makaa

Synkäksi kuvittelen sinitaivaan
sinut toiseksi
silloin sataa

Sano mulle
sano mulle
rakas avaan puserosi napit
hänkin sanoi niin
ja kun suljen silmäni
tää menee ihan hyvin

Korkeella vaeltavat poutapilvet
ajatukseni samaa rataa
jos käännän katseeni
on tässä ihan hyvä makaa

Synkäksi kuvittelen sinitaivaan
sinut toiseksi
silloin sataa

Sano mulle
sano mulle
rakas avaan puserosi napit
hänkin sanoi niin
ja kun suljen silmäni
tää menee ihan hyvin

English translation:

The Boy from Last Year

I’m thinking that the swimming pool is the lake,
and you’re the boy from last year,
and if I close my eyes,
it’s good to lie here,

I’m imagining the blue sky is dark,
and you’re someone else,
and then it rains,

Say to me,
say to me,
“Let me unbutton your shirt, my love”,
that’s what he said,
and if I close my eyes,
this’ll go just fine,

White summer clouds drift high in the sky,
and my thoughts follow behind them,
and if I look at something else,
it’s good to lie here,

I’m imagining the blue sky is dark,
and you’re someone else,
and then it rains,

Say to me,
say to me,
“Let me unbutton your shirt, my love”,
that’s what he said,
and if I close my eyes,
this’ll go just fine.

______________________________________________________


~ by lolarusa on February 18, 2007.

5 Responses to “Poika vuoden takaa”

  1. Aw man. Did they sing it like it was a happy song?
    jill

  2. Hi Jill. Thanks for the comment, but I’m not sure what you mean. Are you asking about their performance in this video? It doesn’t seem like a particularly happy performance to me. Does it to you?

  3. Hey, I always prefer having a song translated both literally and in a way that makes sense if you want to sing it. The literal translation by lolarusa is fine, so let me just add something for those that would like to sing it too, of course less literally and more in rhythm with some attempted rhyme.

    I imagine that the pool is a clear blue lake
    I see you as the boy from last year.
    If I just close my eyes,
    I don’t mind laying down here.

    I imagine that the blue sky is grim and gray,
    I imagine you’re another,
    then it’s raining.

    Say to me, say to me,
    “Love, I’m gonna open you’re shirt buttons.”
    He said that to me,
    and when I close my eyes,
    It’s gonna be alright.

    High in the sky the clouds drift on by
    And like them my thoughts go on, too.
    If I just shift my gaze,
    I can stay lying here with you.

    I imagine that the blue sky is grim and gray,
    I imagine you’re another,
    then it’s raining.

    Say to me, say to me,
    “Love, I’m gonna open you’re shirt buttons.”
    He said that to me,
    and when I close my eyes,
    It’s gonna be alright.

  4. Hi Northern Flame,

    I will take your criticism in a spirit of humility. Your translation is a good one for anyone who may want to perform the song in English.

    Don’t think the line “Love, I’m gonna open your shirt buttons” works at all, though, if you try to sing it. There’s too much solemn emphasis on “buttons”, which is an unavoidably non-solemn word.

    Isn’t this a great song, though?

  5. The words of this poem/song are simply touching. And the music is just perfect to emphasize that very special feeling of love, nostalgia and longing all together gently merged and all of a sudden sprung up in an eve of a cold winter night… Beautiful…

Leave a Reply

 
