Our Year at the Movies 2012

Every year, Rick and I save all of our ticket stubs from plays, concerts, movies, trips – anything that requires a ticket – and look at them on New Year’s Eve to reminisce about all the fun tickety things we did over the course of the year.

Unlike in previous years, I’ve decided not to burden you this year by listing every movie I saw in the cinema all year long (last year it took two posts) and instead to just tell you about the very best films I saw, whether in the cinema or in our living room.

I’ll start with two, the Iranian film A Separation, which won last year’s Academy Award for best foreign film, and the American film Margaret, previously released in a very shortened version in theaters but finally made available in its entirety last year on dvd, and thus ineligible for Oscar consideration.

Here is the trailer for Margaret:

and A Separation:

Both of these films have a complexity of characterization that makes you marvel at how simple-minded most other movies are by comparison. I saw both of these previews in the theater and thought I’d been given a fairly thorough overview of the plot and issues each film was going to tackle. Then I watched them and realized that the trailers barely began to scratch the surface of the moral and emotional questions each film explores. I can’t recommend them highly enough.

What movies do you admire for making you think?

~ by lolarusa on January 25, 2013.

5 Responses to “Our Year at the Movies 2012”

  1. I was very confused (and not altogether sure I was a fan) while walking out at the end of “The Master”, but it has since grown on me a lot.

    “Lincoln” was not a great directorial achievement, but I love the script and Daniel Day-Lewis’ acting perhaps more than is seemly.

    “Wreck-It Ralph” was my happiest suprise of the year. I expected it to be just OK, but I had a terrific time. Stellar voice acting, rip-roarin’ script, and tons of fun all the way through. I’m a sucker for a good kids movie, though.

    “Goodbye”, a complicated and sad movie set in modern-day Iran. Much better use of your time than “This is Not a Film”, which is the same in a semi-documentary way.

    “The Avengers” was just great, and I dislike most comic-book movies. It wins my heart mostly for a script that makes the characters hash out and (eventually) live up to their stated ethical beliefs/principles. Yes, it’s silly, but it’s so much better than, say, “Thor” was.

    “Jiro Dreams of Sushi”, maybe the best doc I saw all year.

    On video I saw quite a few things. The one that stands out is Bresson’s “Diary of a Country Priest”.

  2. If you have time I would like to have the whole movie list. I am always looking for suggestions. Thank you.
    What a great idea for sharing with a loved one on New Years Eve.
    Page

  3. I found last years listing and have just enjoyed Cave Of Forgotten Drreams. Thank you very much.

  4. Hi Vinny!
    It seems that this year, instead of seeing all the same movies, you went to see all the movies I wanted to see, but didn’t quite get around to. The Master particularly interested me as something best seen on the big screen, but I’ll have to content myself with the video. Jiro Dreams of Sushi also looked very interesting, and on your recommendation I’ll definitely look for it.

  5. Thanks for your interest Page!
    I don’t need much encouragement to talk about the great movies I’ve seen. I’ll post about more of them soon.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

