Little Nemo

I wrote a post a couple of years ago about Windsor McCay‘s marvellous Little Nemo in Slumberland newspaper comics from the early 20th century, and it’s consistently been among my most popular posts – which isn’t surprising, the drawings are so wonderful and imaginative. Every strip depicts a dream of the little hero Nemo.

Here are some more of my favorite Little Nemo strips. I’ve uploaded extra-large images, so you can click and zoom to see them up close.

Little Nemo city

Befuddle Hall 2

Little Nemo garden

More illustration


~ by lolarusa on August 13, 2009.

8 Responses to “Little Nemo”

  1. Fantastic stuff. I need to get out my big Nemo book tonight as I’m goin’ to sleep. :-)

    Thanks for uploading these huge scans, too! They are even easier to read than my book.

  2. Hi Uncle Vinny,

    I got these images from my big Nemo book (from the same series as yours, I’m sure), but this magnified scan is indeed much easier to read – and I think it’s closer to the size they were originally.

  3. Fantastic illustrations.

  4. I was looking at the raspberry dream strip again. Wouldn’t that make a great poster?

  5. The image is big enough that if you had a good color printer, you could print yourself a poster. But I guess most printers don’t print that big, do they?

  6. The only thing that could possibly improve Winsor McCay’s brilliant artwork would be to omit the dialog balloons, which I’ve always found fairly pointless. I guess they provided just enough conventionality to let him get away with extravagant surrealism in the Sunday Funnies.

  7. The balloons do spoil the composition a little, but I also love the quirky dialogue.

  8. this is owesome, the story is amazing , muito boa mesmo..

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

