Have Fun, Be Good

transistor_radio_2

Rick and I are going on a week-long vacation (we’re Americans – a week is all we can manage), so there will be a (too) brief gap in the posts here at the Chawed Rosin. I realize that you’re probably thinking, “What am I going to do while you’re gone?”, so I thought I’d list some of my favorite podcasts to entertain you while we’re away.

Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me is a weekly NPR quiz show that brings witty people together to pretend to play a current events game as an excuse to spend forty-five minutes making clever and/or snarky comments. Sometimes it’s hilariously funny.

Radio Lab is a consistently mind-blowing science show for non-scientists, with high production values and creative editing. I’m serious – it will blow your mind. Favorite episodes: Laughter, Morality, Pop Music.

Stuff You Should Know, from How Stuff Works, is dedicated to well-sourced discussions of little-known scientific facts, pop-culture phenomena, or anything that grabs their interest. I appreciate the hosts’ charm and their scrupulously empirical approach. Favorite episodes: How has toxoplasma turned the world into zombies?, How body dysmorphic disorder works, How alien hand syndrome works.

The Moth has made me cry – but usually it makes me laugh. It’s recorded at live storytelling events. The rules are that the story must be true, and the performer can’t use any notes. My favorite episode is about the building superintendent who tells tall tales, but I can’t find a way to link to it. I’m sure they’ll re-run it at some point – they have once or twice already – and in the meantime they’ll play plenty of great stories I haven’t heard yet.

The Memory Palace is a quick little podcast that tells you something new about people and events you thought you knew about. Almost always surprising. Favorite episodes: These words, forever, Ben Franklin death ray.

So we’ll see you next week. There’s food in the fridge. You have my beeper number. And, like my Mom used to tell me – Have fun, be good.

Image courtesy of the incredible collection at Sarah’s Transistor Radios.

~ by lolarusa on July 16, 2009.

One Response to “Have Fun, Be Good”

  1. If you can’t be good be careful.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

