Kaliman, el Hombre Increible

For quite a while, my husband Rick used to buy every issue of the Mexican comic book Kaliman, el Hombre Increible. They sold it at Read All About It in Pike Place, but unfortunately it seems to have been discontinued.

First issued in 1965, Kaliman was very popular across Latin America. It ran until 1991 and sold over a million copies. Reissues of the comic started to appear in 1998. As far as I know, they are still reissuing the old comics. Here are some of my favorite covers from Kaliman.

-

Kaliman’s head

-

“HALT! NO ONE CAN BUY MY POWERS.”

-

Kaliman standing

-

“HA HA HA!”

“AH! THAT LIGHT WILL PUT AN END TO MY EYES!”

-

Kaliman kneeling

-

Kaliman is a master of martial and mental arts, and spent a large portion of the series completely blind, but able to still defeat his enemies through his amazing powers, and always without the use of weapons other than tranquilizer darts. He is also always saying wise things like:

“En nuestro mundo no viven malas personas, viven aquellos que permiten que las otras sean malas.”

There are no bad people in the world, but there are some who allow others to be bad.

One of the pleasures of reading Kaliman as an English speaker is the language. I’ve studied Spanish, but for people who haven’t, it’s still fairly easy to figure out what is happening most of the time.

There is a Kaliman website in English, and at least two very official-looking sites in Spanish, here and here.

More comics

More Kaliman

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

~ by lolarusa on May 20, 2007.

24 Responses to “Kaliman, el Hombre Increible”

  1. I was a big fan of Kaliman and I enjoyed your reading… thanks!

  2. Hi

    you’re a great Graphical Archeologist

    i’m a Kaliman Fan a time ago,
    your post refresh my inner child

    thnx’s again for your research

  3. I grew up reading comic books and listening to radio shows of my childhood hero KALIMAN. I am looking and willing to buy the Number 1 issue of the comic book.

  4. Hello Horacio,

    Unfortunately, I don’t know where you can find a copy of Kaliman #1. If anyone does know, please post a link.

  5. I would like to know how I can get a subscription of these re-issues, I grew up read it every week. These are some of my memories as a kid. I still facinated with the adventures that took place in Istanbul and other African countries etc. It use to be on radio in the 70s. Thanks,Alfonso

  6. Hi everyone,
    I grew up rading all of Kaliman’s and Solin adventures. I would like to buy his collections again. Is there a way to still do that? Rading your comments brings a lot of memories about my biggest super hero. I can be reach at josesdq@yahoo.com if anyone wants to help me in finding his series.

  7. hey everybody im a big fan of this comic ,im 32 as a child i sometimes wold not go to school, and spend my lunch money in these place were you wold rent comics and i read every kaliman i coul get my little hands on ; i must say the covers are a big part of the popularity of this comic with those very nice girls colorfull backgrounds and interesting enemies Gutierrez wold always take my attention . serenidad y paciencia Solin mucha paciencia

  8. I used to read Kaliman like 35 Years ago and I’m pretty sure that because of this I like reading a lot and his lessons were also very good influence to my life, I would love to have the entire colection and give them to my kids it’s a shame that todays comics can not be as educational and safe as Kaliman.
    Thanks for this nice blog.

  9. Hi,
    I also read Kaliman every week for years and collected all the issues from the ‘Karma’ series on. Unfortunately my mother threw them away once I left home.
    I agree that Kaliman offers much more than any other comics, and would love to be able to at least buy some series to pass them on to my kids.
    I’d appreciate if anybody posted information about where we could buy some, of all of these series.
    Thanks.

  10. I have seen many postings of the Kaliman comics on ebay.

  11. I am in the US and when I was in my country Peru I grew up reading this extraordinary magazines. Kaliman it’s more than a magazine, we can learn a lot from it. It’s the best. I want to get them, can any one tell me where I can get them?
    Gracias

  12. I just want to say that I learn to read with this amazing comic book 32 years ago back in Mexico.

  13. my husband would like to know where he can get the radio novelas of kaliman on audio cd’s or tapes?

  14. Hello.. I have the Complete Kaliman magazines in Digital Format.
    They are all viewable on your computer.
    From issue #1 until the last issue!
    I can sell as many complete edventures as you wish, or the entire collection that is 10.5 GB and is in 3 DVD’s, ready to be shipped.
    I can e-mail you 1 Free Sample of the Kaliman issue of your choice! Just call me at (619)520-0618 or send me an e-mail at german66@cox.net to request your Free Sample.
    Please do not reply on this forum, since I don’t check it often.
    Just e-mail me direclt or call me.
    Thanks!

  15. Sorry, the right number to call me is (619)520-0718.

  16. Does anyone know where i could get a copy of the cd disc of all or some or the Kaliman radio novelas?? Please if you could help id really appreciate it.I want to get this for my dad’s birthday, Kaliman was his batman or superman when he was a child in Mexico. If you have any info pleas contact me at KALIMANSEEKER@YAHOO.COM

  17. I am also looking for some or all of the Kaliman radio novelas. My girlfriend grew up listening to them on the radio in Columbia. Anybody know where/how to get them? Contact me at dsmccright@gmail.com.

  18. I WAS EDUCATED IN SAN JOSE CA AND AT AGE 7 I READ KALIMAN IN SPANISH AND SUPERMAN IN ENGLISH I GAVE ALL MY COMICS TO MY NEPHEWS 2 B BILINGUAL PROFESIONALS IN THE BAY AREA IF U ARE WAITING 2 C TRAILERS OF THE MOVIE KALIMAN VS KARMA 2010 U CAN CALL 408 771 2527

  19. Kaliman & Karma …..wow…eternal enemies!!! as well as Namilak ( he’s Kaliman’s dak side ) like 25 years ago I read the comic, it’s simply other thing…..

  20. I am currently seeing the movie, Kaliman en el siniestro mundo de humanon…..It{s a silly movie, but wnjoyable

  21. i am interested in buying kaliman comics if you know anyone selling them let me know at alberto.puga@yahoo.com

  22. Hola! Im back at this forum since July 2009, when I posted here for the 1st time. Since then, I have sold over 50 copies of my Digital Coleccion of Kaliman.. Take a look at my 2 videos in youtube:

    I hope you like them! Thanks!

  23. I am interested in buying Kaliman comic books. If anybody knows where I can purchase these comic books, or knows who is selling them, please contact me at gutierreztaekwondo@yahoo.com
    I would greatly appreciate it. As a boy, I read them every week and love all his adventures. They would bring so many childhood memories. Thank you.

    Carlos G.

  24. Careful with these so called ‘digital’ Kaliman comics. They are not proffessional, official studio, publisher etc releases. These are scanned by different individuals at very low resolution. The scans range from acceptable to poor. Their is no uniformity throughout. You would think greater care would’ve been taken in scanning at a higher res and cleaning the images more. Still its better than nothing and the effort is appreciated. I’m close with today’s scanning community and i have this 10.5 gb archive. Just be forewarned. These are mostly cbr and cbz and even pdf’s. Why put a comic in pdf is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

